Home > JDBC, Oracle > ORA-12505: TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect descriptor

ORA-12505: TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect descriptor

I am not sure why I get this error since I can connect to the current SID by using sqlplus but I cannot connect to it by using jdbc with the following url:


After searching for about an hour I found out that you can also use the full blown jdbc url protocol to connect to oracle


This does not explain why the issue happens but at least for now it solves the problem. I will post an update if I find anything else.

Categories: JDBC, Oracle
  1. Vishal
    20 October 2011 at 5:00 am

    Thanx. It is really helpful.

  2. test
    1 November 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Iam trying to connect iReropt to Oracle db using Database JDBC Connection wizard.
    I tried the same way as you mentioned and it works the same way it worked for you.
    i.e. when i mention the full blown jdbc url, it is connecting successfully, but not for jdbc:oracle:thin:@myHost:1521:mySID. Dont know why ??

  3. 1 November 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Not sure why it’s doing it. Maybe the application server does not like something in the URL. Not sure.

  4. tomim
    24 November 2011 at 11:28 am


    As I understand, you are using service name instead of SID.

    URL for conenctions based on service names should be in this format…

  5. Liju John
    21 December 2011 at 11:05 pm

    This was really helpful for me !! Thanks

  6. tester
    24 December 2011 at 4:35 am

    thabkyou .It works :)

  7. Uzay Ordu
    7 February 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Panos and tomim!

    Thank you very much

  8. Labrini
    19 February 2012 at 3:45 am

    Dear Panos,

    Thank you for the information.
    I have the same message in my PC while I try to connect SQL developer with the Oracle database.
    Do you know where to make this change of JDBC driver?

    Thank you,

  9. 20 February 2012 at 7:37 am

    Hi Labrini, you should put the full URL in the field where you define the format of the jdbc url protocol. Not sure where exactly this is, I have never used SQL Developer. Have a look at the SQL Developer documentation for more information.

  10. 28 February 2012 at 8:03 pm

    Interesting. I’ve never had such error. A simple connection string always worked for me.

  11. 7 March 2012 at 12:00 pm

    plz tell me what i use insted of SID?

  12. Lavanya
    24 March 2012 at 8:00 am

    No luck :( , Tried out all the three options below to connect to the Oracle10g XE but getting the same exception ORA-12514 :


    where TelusDB is the DB name i created in Oracle.

  13. Lavanya
    24 March 2012 at 8:01 am

    sry, correction to the third option above :
    3. jdbc:oracle:thin:@//localhost:1521/TelusDB :( :( :(
    Help pls

  14. oracle_user
    3 June 2012 at 5:40 pm

    thanks–it really helped

  15. Pieter
    4 June 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Life saver, took me hours finding out how to fix this

  16. Suresh Mopada
    5 July 2012 at 8:03 pm

    Hi, I am Suresh Mopada. I had the same problem but its resolved for me.

    i am using window 7 64 bit operating system and oracle 10 g.
    while try to connect oracle database (database SID: orcl, username: system, password: manager) using jdbc type 4 driver (thin). i got the error ORA:12505.
    i found all tns entries are correct and listener also running.. but still i got the error due to the
    statement which i used in JDBC program.

    old type !V driver syntax:
    Connection con = DriverManager.getConnection(“jdbc:oracle:thin:@localhost:1521:XE”,”system”,”manager”);
    }catch(Exception e)
    O/P causes the ORA:12505 error.

    in windows 7 64 bit operating system the above code not worked for me. so i change the JDBC code see below.

    New code:

    Connection con = DriverManager.getConnection(“jdbc:oracle:thin:@localhost:1521:orcl”,”system”,”manager”);
    }catch(Exception e)

    Note: you have to mention your SID in the Connection string. in my scenario orcl is my SID, at the time oracle installation i given that name.

    O/P oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CConnection@b169f8

    I hope it will help you.

    if you have any queries, you can reach me on sureshm1986@gmail.com

  17. felippe
    7 November 2012 at 12:07 pm

    Guy, you saved my life ! haha, thank you !

  18. Ashook
    28 November 2012 at 12:36 pm

    A big Thank to Panos. It worked.

  19. frits
    6 August 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Thanks, you saved my day! :D

  20. Chloe chong
    3 March 2014 at 12:38 pm

    There are another solution for ora-12505, if you are using windows you can just run msconfig and find your SID and change it then the problems should be solved. For more details you can visit http://blackandwhitecomputer.blogspot.com/2013/11/error-ora-12505-oracle-sql-developer.html

  21. John Ortiz
    14 September 2014 at 9:59 pm

    Thanks @Panos. I was needing how to specify the the SID value in connection string in iReport:


  22. PixnBits
    26 March 2015 at 6:45 pm

    Thanks for saving me an hour :)

  23. 25 September 2015 at 4:51 pm

    Thank you very much Panos

  1. 3 September 2011 at 4:04 am

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

